By PoliZette Staff | September 4, 2019
California’s Gov. Gavin Newsom (D) signed a bill on Tuesday that no longer requires any “able-bodied person 18 years of age or older” in the Golden State to help a police officer who requests assistance during an arrest.
But Sen. Bob Hertzberg, a Los Angeles Democrat who sponsored the bill, said the old law was a “vestige of a bygone era.”
The law was employed to help catch runaway slaves, the report said.
The old law made it a misdemeanor that carried a fine of up to $1,000 for refusing to help a police officer who requested assistance during an arrest.
The new bill just signed by the governor was opposed by the California State Sheriff’s Association, the Bee reported.
The association said in a statement, “There are situations in which a peace officer might look to private persons for assistance in matters of emergency or risks to public safety and we are unconvinced that this statute should be repealed.”
See these tweets with reactions — and share your own thoughts:
As long as we have governors like this crime is not going anywhere..mark such deceivers that work for criminals while operating as voice for the innocent.. https://t.co/d4mDhuQJPX 
— Jacob (@HeisTru) September 4, 2019 
What this goober is doing to California is criminal. Slowly ripping the fabric of 🇺🇸laws. Newsom signs bill repealing a 100+ year law allowing police officers to require citizens to assist 👮. What a shame he has so little respect for our men/women in BLUE https://t.co/zYKZASNtIT 
— GaPeach🍑4Trump (@GA_peach3102) September 4, 2019 
This piece originally appeared in LifeZette  and is used by permission.
Read more at LifeZette.com:
Walmart Will Stop Selling Short-Barrel Rifle Ammunition, Will Make ‘Complete Exit from Handguns’ 
James ‘Mad Dog’ Mattis on Donald Trump: President Is a ‘Forthright Man’ and ‘So Am I’ 
Bill de Blasio Worked at City Hall for Just Seven Hours in May (He Won’t Be Debating Next Week)